3

TECHNOLOGIES

The Linky Smart meter

The Linky smart meter is at the heart of the NICE GRID project, enabling in particular to retrieve historical data and to control customer’s domestic appliances.

The Linky smart meter, the first stone of smart grids

This meter of a new generation measures remotely and on a regular basis the electricity consumption and the generation of households in order to optimize the management of the electricity distribution grid.

The features of this new smart meter are essential to develop innovating smart grids solutions in France.

The service level obtained in NICE GRID for collecting data and sending control commands to smart meters deployed in Carros is around 95%.

The Linky smart meter

As of May 2015, 2350 meters were deployed in Carros.

An innovating communication architecture

The Linky smart meter is able to receive orders and provide data remotely, without requiring the presence of a technician. In this way, the meter communicates with a data concentrator, which is a mini-computer installed at the secondary substation managed by Enedis, via a Power-line communication (PLC). The concentrator is directly linked to the Enedis supervision agency, based in Lyon.

The Linky Architecture – Click on the picture to enlarge it.

A focused deployment

In 2012, the first households equipped with smart meters were the households of the 7 solar districts which concentrated half of Carros’ photovoltaic generation.

Thereafter, the deployment carried on in the area selected to experimentations of load shedding. This district concentrate inhabitants equipped with electric heating, and collective housing, street lighting and electrical vehicle charging stations. These are all essential components to perform experimentations.

86% of this area’s inhabitants are equipped with electric heating, that’s why the electricity supplier EDF proposed several adapted offers which meet the need of shedding load. This is one of the major levers to face the consumption peak.

In France, we expect to replace 35 millions of meters by 2021 - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

Several strengths for the project

Better awareness of the electricity consumption and production

• A monitoring portal of participating customers consumption
With the consent of the customer and by metering systems, load curves are securely and daily transmitted to the aggregators which offer participating customers a portal to monitor their consumption via internet.

• Generation Forecast set daily
Historical measurements have been used to forecast accurately and daily the individual consumption and generation of customers concentrated in solar districts. To achieve this, each day, the metering system transmitted to the NICE GRID forecast platforms load and generation curves of customers.

The control of equipments through information transmitted by the meter

• Prive incentives
During summer experimentations, volunteer customers in solar districts have been able to take advantages of additional off-peak hours between 12 noon and 4 PM, during the 40 sunniest days. This offer is sent the day-ahead to each participating customer, the information was sent to the meter which measured the consumed energy with a dedicated index.

• Dry contact control
For customers equipped with electric hot water tank, an order is sent the day-ahead in order to trigger the water heater in the following day. By this way, the water heater was triggered during a time ranging from 30 minutes to 4 hours. This activation took place in group of customers, in order to smooth the load curve at the district level. For street lighting, during consumption peak, the meter’s dry contact served to actuate, the day-ahead for the following day, the dimmer switch to reduce the light intensity.

• Transmission of a peak reduction signal
The meter’s remote customer information (TIC) output provides the customer several information including the current peak consumption period. In NICE GRID, the day-ahead of consumption peak days, the energy supplier sends a peak reduction signal in order to control electric heating via equipment downstream from the meter.

A better understanding of the low-voltage distribution grid

• Connecting phase
The smart meter enables to improve the accuracy of the customers cartography.

• Voltage measurement
A high photovoltaic generation can raise locally the voltage, the Linky smart meter can consequently play a warning role. The meter communicates voltage measures when it exceeds a specific threshold; this measurements are primordial to monitor the electric grid of solar districts in Carros.

Consumption display

Interface « visibilité conso » for a residential customer

Pose d’un compteur communicant Linky

Four levels of storage

One of the strength of the NICE GRID project is the installation of energy storage systems at four different levels of the distribution grid, from the primary substation (HV/MV) until the customers’ premises.

Store on the electric grid, the guarantee of a flexible grid

These four storage systems, connected to the electric grid of Carros, have shown the wide range of flexibilities they can offer: reduce peak demand the coldest days, store the surplus of photovoltaic generation the sunniest days, and island temporarily a district of the main distribution grid.

• The 1 MW / 560 kWh storage system

Installed at the primary substation supplying Carros, this system was used only to reduce the peak demand the coldest days by injecting on the distribution grid the stored energy. The storage system of 1 MW was one of the most important in Europe in view of its storage capacity.

• The 250 kW / 620 kWh storage system

Installed at the secondary substation “Dock Trachel” in the industrial area of Carros, this storage system has enabled to island a district (supplying it autonomously for a limited duration of time), to reduce peak demand the coldest days and to store the surplus of photovoltaic generation the sunniest days.

• The two 33 kW / 106 kWh storage systems 

Installed in residential solar districts, these “community” storage systems contributed to reduce peak demand the coldest days and to store the surplus of photovoltaic generation the sunniest days.

The 33 kW / 106 kWh storage system

Installation of the 250 kW / 620 kWh storage system

Installation of the islanding storage system in the industrial area of Carros

Influence of storage on the grid voltage

Voltage measurement at the level of the 33 kW / 106 kWh community storage system

For the prosumers, storing energy at home, an additional flexibility

18 participating customers of NICE GRID were equipped with a residential storage system consisting of a SMA converter and a Saft Li-Ion battery of 4kWh. These systems connected to the domestic grid such as another household appliance, allowed the prosumer to play a proactive role in reducing winter consumption peaks, by discharging the battery and in reducing the summer injection peaks during the sunniest days by charging the battery.

Residential battery at a prosumer home – Click on the picture to enlarge it.

Residential battery

Installation of the first residential battery

Batteries and converters, at the heart of the storage system

A storage system is characterized by its power rating, equivalent for instance to the amount of clients to supply, and by its energy, which can be illustrated by the period during which clients are supplied: two parameters to select according to the storage use cases.

A storage system in NICE GRID project consists of one or several battery racks combined to one or several power converters.

Converters transform direct current into alternate current with an appropriate voltage to connect the system to the electric grid.

Battery container – Saft, located in the substation of Carros : The modules having 14 components lithium-Ion are connected in parallel - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

Lithium-Ion, a cutting-edge technology

NICE GRID has chosen Lithium-Ion batteries, one of the most advanced solutions. Indeed, Lithium-Ion batteries can charge and discharge electric energy by using a chemical reaction based on lithium ion. The main features of this technology are its high energy density (energy per volume unit) and its mass energy (energy per mass unit).

Those characteristics make this technology one of the better among the current existing solutions, to supply mobiles appliances (Smartphone…) or vehicles (electric or hybrid vehicles).

  • Saft battery installed in the garden of a Carros’ inhabitant - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

  • Saft battery container located at Carros primary substation : Lithium-Ion batteries are linked together - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

En savoir plus

The power converter, an essential component

Lithium-Ion batteries operate with direct current where electrons circulate always in the same direction. However, the electric grid supplies alternate current; electrons change direction each10 milliseconds. Thanks to power converters, the direction of electrons changes that allows to charge and discharge the battery from the grid.

NICE GRID project has used several models of converters according to the power range.

  • Power converter SUNSYS PCS² 66TR located in the Premiere Rue of Carros - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

  • Power converter MaxSine® of GE Grid Solutions for the 1 MW battery in the substation- Click on the picture to enlarge it.

IT architecture

The IT architecture of NICE GRID project has allowed for activating flexibilities within an automated process, according to the requests of grid operators.

The Network Energy Manager (NEM), at the heart of the project

The Network Energy Manager (NEM), developed by GE Grid Solutions, has been firstly operated in March 2014. This computer plays a central role in solving grid constraints, in winter and summer by offering the requested flexibilities.

Based on generation and consumption forecasts and grid operators requests, it requested aggregators to offer flexibilities which meet operators demands. This NEM is like a local flexibility market consisting of 2 buyers (Grid operators) and 3 vendors (3 aggregators).

Overview of the distribution system operator user interface (DSO UI) of the NEM - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

Presentation of the NEM by GE, European Utility Week in Vienne, Autriche - Nov 2016

Aggregators, interface between the NEM and the customers

Aggregators ensure the link between flexibilities (control of water heating, industrial processes, storage systems on the grid) and the Network Energy Manager (NEM).

Among their main functions, let’s talk about the aggregation of customers’ contributions in order to build offers which will be proposed by the NEM or the control of flexibilities meeting grid needs.

NICE GRID relied on 3 aggregators:

• The residential aggregator EDELIA which controlled flexibilities at residential customers’ premises (water heating, batteries…) through the Linky meter infrastructure or a box for the batteries.

• The business aggregator NETSEENERGY which controlled the processes of 12 participating industrial clients and the public lighting of 8 streets in Carros.

• The storage aggregator which was in charge of the 4 grid storage systems.

En savoir plus

Generation and consumption forecasts

The Network Energy Manager (NEM) relies on photovoltaic generation and consumption forecasts. This 2 platforms use historical data of generation, of consumption (through Linky) and weather forecasts as input data.

Then, forecasts are integrated in the NEM in order to estimate the need of grid flexibility for the following day.

Photovoltaic installation on the roof of LA POSTE premises in Carros - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

Behind the meter architectures

To control customers (residential and industrial) appliances, aggregators have developed specific architectures called “Behind the meter architectures”

The residential water heating, an energy tank

The control of the hot water tank proceeded remotely by EDF, without any further equipment, through an information sent to the smart meter Linky.

In this way, several times, between 12 noon and 4 PM during high solar generation periods, hot water tank were triggered, acting like a thermal storage.

Behind the meter architecture for hot water tank control - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

Residential batteries, a first step towards self-consumption

Customers who subscribed to the « Smart Solar Equipment » offer gave their consent to EDF to control automatically the installed battery.

To proceed this automatic control, EDELIA installed an Energy Box which enables information exchanges between the aggregation platform and the Saft Battery through the SMA converter. It directly communicates with consumption and generation meters. Thus, the box sent appropriate charge/discharge orders according to the context: if the photovoltaic generation is important and the consumption low, a charge order is sent. Conversely, in order to face a consumption peak, the household equipments consume the energy stored in the battery.

Architecture downstream meter permitting the controlling of residential baterries – Click on the picture to enlarge it.

Electric Heating supervision, an essential leverage to reduce the consumption peaks

Participating customers who signed «Electric Heating Control » contract, agreed the automatically control of their electric heating by EDF (via NKE, EDELIA and the Linky IT).

The system is controlled through a signal sent by the Linky smart meter, then this signal is detected by a dedicated component, installed in customer home. This device is in charge of cutting off or reducing the consumption of the electric heating.

Architecture downstream meter permitting the controlling of electric heating - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

The supervisions of several tertiary and industrial devices

Air-conditioning systems, air handling unit, water heating, cooling unit… 12 participating industrials agreed to have an automatical control on these devices by the business aggregator Netseenergy.

Architecture downstream meter for tertiary customers - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

The supervision of the street lighting through Linky

The public lighting of 8 streets in Carros was supervised during the consumption peak, with support from the Nice Côte d’Azur metropolis. An interface connected to the Linky smart meter and a voltage regulator of the company Augier have enabled this automatically control.

Architecture downstream meter for the supervision of the street lighting - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

Further innovations

The solar transformer, a turnkey and independent solution

The solar transformer, combination of a MV/LV transformer, an on load tap changer, a solar radiation sensor and a controller, has been installed in one of the secondary substation of the 7 solar districts in Carros. Its main function is to stabilize the voltage in order to be able to connect more photovoltaic generation in the district without any risk of overvoltage for the customers.

Installation of the smart transformer, result of many innovations between Schneider Electric and Enedis – November 2014 - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

Solar control

Installation du transformateur solaire, fruit d’une innovation entre Schneider Electric et les équipes d’Enedis – novembre 2014

Asservissement solaire

Fonctionnement de l'asservissement solaire du transformateur solaire

The Broadband over Power Line (BPL) communication

Storage systems, advanced measurement devices, meters, solar transformer…All this innovating components are allocated on the grid, bus how make them securely and in real time communicate among themselves?

The solution is the broadband over power line communication. This communication protocol uses electrical wiring to simultaneously carry data and electric power. Thus a signal, with a frequency of 2 to 12 MHz and carrying data, is superposed to the electric signal of 50Hz.

Installation of BPL Coupler in a transformation substation - Click on the picture to enlarge it.

The Broadband over Power Line (BPL) communication

3

LES TECHNOLOGIES

Le compteur Linky

Le compteur Linky est au cœur du projet NICE GRID, permettant notamment de mettre à disposition des données historiques et de piloter des appareils domestiques chez les clients.

Le compteur Linky, 1ère brique des smart grids

Le compteur nouvelle génération mesure à distance et régulièrement les consommations et les productions d’électricité des foyers afin d’optimiser la gestion du réseau de distribution électrique.

Les fonctionnalités de ce nouveau compteur communicant Linky sont essentielles pour le développement de solutions « smart grids » innovantes en France.

Le niveau de services pour la collecte de données ou l’envoi des ordres de pilotage des compteurs installés à Carros a été supérieure à 95%. Compteurs identiques à ceux testés par Enedis à Lyon et Tours (palier 0), Enedis déploie pour la généralisation des compteurs de (palier 1).

Le compteur Linky

En mai 2015, 2350 compteurs sont installés chez les habitants de Carros.

Une architecture de communication innovante

Le compteur Linky est capable de recevoir des ordres et de transmettre des données sans qu’un technicien soit présent. Ainsi, le compteur communique avec un concentrateur de données, micro-ordinateur installé dans le transformateur géré par Enedis, par l’intermédiaire de courant porteur en ligne (CPL). Le concentrateur est directement connecté au centre de supervision d’Enedis situé à Lyon.

Architecture Linky - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Un déploiement ciblé

En 2012, les premiers foyers équipés de compteurs communicants seront les foyers des 7 « quartiers solaires » réunissant la moitié des producteurs photovoltaïques résidentiels de Carros.

Puis, suivra la zone dédiée à l’expérimentation de la « réduction de la pointe hivernale » ; zone composée à majorité de logements équipés de chauffage électrique, de logements collectifs, de l’éclairage public et des bornes de recharge de véhicules électriques, autant de critères indispensables pour mener les tests.

86% des habitants de la zone étant équipés de chauffage électrique, le fournisseur d’énergie EDF leur proposera ainsi des offres adaptées à cet usage, un des leviers majeurs pour limiter le pic de consommation.

D’ici 2021, 35 millions de compteurs devraient être changés en France - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

De multiples atouts pour le projet

Une meilleure connaissance de la consommation et de la production d’électricité

• Un portail de suivi des consommations pour les clients participants
C’est grâce au système de comptage et avec l’accord du client, que chaque jour, les courbes de charge des installations ont été transmises de manière sécurisée aux agrégateurs qui ont proposént ainsi aux clients participants d’accéder à leur suivi de consommations par internet.

• Des prévisions de consommation et de production établies au quotidien
Les historiques de mesures servaient à prévoir de façon précise et quotidienne les consommations et productions individuelles des clients des quartiers solaires. Pour cela, chaque jour, le système de comptage adressait aux outils de prévisions NICE GRID les courbes de consommation et de production des clients.

Le pilotage d’usages via des informations transmises par le compteur

• Incitation tarifaire
Lors des expérimentations d’été, les clients volontaires des quartiers solaires ont pu bénéficier d’ « Heures Creuses » supplémentaires entre 12h et 16h et ceci, pendant les 40 jours les plus ensoleillés. Adressée la veille pour le lendemain à chaque client participant, l’information était envoyée au compteur qui mesurait alors l’énergie consommée à partir d’un index dédié.

• Pilotage du contact sec
Quant aux clients équipés d’un ballon d’eau chaude électrique, un ordre a été acheminé par le compteur la veille pour le lendemain afin d’enclencher leur ballon en journée. Le ballon a ainsi pu être activé sur une durée pouvant varier de 30 minutes à 4 heures. Cette activation s’est faite par groupes de clients pour lisser l’énergie consommée au niveau du quartier.
Pour l’éclairage public, en cas de pointe de consommation, le contact sec du compteur a servi à actionner, la veille pour le lendemain, le variateur de puissance afin de diminuer l’intensité lumineuse.

• Transmission d’un signal de pointe
La sortie téléinformation (TIC) du compteur met à disposition du client un certain nombre d’informations dont la période de pointe en cours. Dans NICE GRID, la veille des jours de pic de consommation, le fournisseur d’énergie envoyait un signal de pointe permettant d’agir sur le chauffage électrique via des équipements aval compteur.

Une meilleure connaissance du réseau de distribution basse tension

• Phase de rattachement
Le compteur communicant permet d’améliorer la précision de la cartographie des clients.

• Mesures de tension
Une forte production photovoltaïque peut élever la tension sur le réseau, le compteur Linky peut alors jouer un rôle d’alerte. Il communique les mesures de tension dépassant un certain seuil ; mesures précieuses pour piloter le réseau électrique des quartiers solaires de Carros.

Visibilité conso

Interface « visibilité conso » chez un client résidentiel

Pose d’un compteur communicant Linky

Quatre niveaux de stockage

Une des forces du projet NICE GRID, réside dans l’installation de dispositifs de stockage d’énergie à quatre niveaux différents du réseau de distribution, du poste source (Haute tension/ Moyenne tension) jusqu’aux consommateurs résidentiels.

Stocker sur le réseau électrique, la garantie d’un réseau flexible

Soulager le réseau dit amont les jours les plus froids, stocker l’excédent de production photovoltaïque les jours de fort ensoleillement, permettre d’îloter temporairement un quartier du réseau principal, telles sont les souplesses apportées par les 4 systèmes de stockage, hors stockage résidentiel, que NICE GRID a installés sur le réseau électrique de Carros.

• Le système de 1 MW / 560 kWh

Installé au poste source et desservant la ville de Carros, ce système a été utilisé uniquement pour soulager le réseau dit amont les jours les plus froids en hiver en injectant sur le réseau l’électricité stockée dans la batterie. La batterie de 1MW, était lors de son installation à Carros l’une des plus importantes par sa capacité de stockage en Europe.

• Le système de 250 kW / 620 kWh 

Implanté au poste de distribution public « Dock Trachel » dans la zone industrielle de Carros, ce système a permis d’îloter le quartier (le faire fonctionner en autonomie pendant une durée limitée), de soulager le réseau « amont » les jours les plus froids, et également de stocker l’excédent de production photovoltaïque les jours de fort ensoleillement.

• Les 2 systèmes de 33 kW / 106 kWh

Installés dans les quartiers « solaires résidentiels », ces systèmes de stockage dits « communautaires » ont contribué à soulager le réseau « amont » les jours les plus froids, et également à stocker l’excédent de production photovoltaïque les jours de fort ensoleillement

Système de stockage communautaire de 33 kW / 106 kWh

Installation du système de 250 kW / 620 kWh

L’installation du système de stockage pour l’îlotage dans la zone industrielle de Carros

Influence du stockage sur la tension du réseau

Mesure de tension au niveau du système de stockage communautaire

Pour le consomm’acteur, stocker l’électricité chez lui, une souplesse supplémentaire

18 clients du projet NICE GRID ont été équipés d’un système de stockage résidentiel composé d’un convertisseur SMA et une batterie Lithium-ion (Li-ion) de Saft d’une puissance de 4 kW et d’une capacité de 4 kWh. Ces systèmes connectés au réseau électrique de la maison comme un autre appareil ménager, ont permis aux consomm’acteurs de participer à réduire les pointes de consommation en hiver en déchargeant la batterie, et à réduire les pointes d’injection lors des pics de production photovoltaïque en été en chargeant la batterie avec l’énergie produite en surplus.

Batterie résidentielle au domicile d’un client participant - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Batterie résidentielle

Installation de la première batterie résidentielle

Batteries et convertisseurs, clés de voûte du système de stockage

Un système de stockage se caractérise par sa puissance, équivalent par exemple au nombre de clients à alimenter,  et son énergie, qu’on peut illustrer par la durée d’alimentation des clients : deux paramètres à choisir en fonction de l’utilisation du stockage.

Un système de stockage dans le projet NICE GRID se compose d’un ou plusieurs modules de batteries combinés à un ou plusieurs modules de convertisseurs de puissance.

Les convertisseurs transforment le courant continu des batteries en courant alternatif et à un niveau de tension permettant de connecter l’ensemble au réseau électrique.

Container de batterie - Saft situé au poste source de Carros : les modules contenant chacun 14 éléments lithium-ion sont connectés en batterie. - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Le Lithium ion, une technologie en pointe

NICE GRID a choisi des batteries de type « lithium ion », une des solutions les plus avancées.
En effet, la batterie « lithium-ion » peut charger ou décharger de l’énergie électrique en utilisant une réaction chimique à base de lithium sous une forme ionique. Ses avantages sont sa très forte densité énergétique (énergie par unité de volume) et son importante énergie massique (énergie par unité de masse).

Ces caractéristiques font de cette batterie l’une des meilleures solutions actuelles pour alimenter en électricité les appareils nomades (appareil photo, téléphone mobile) ou les véhicules (voiture hybride, voiture électrique).

  • Container de batterie - Saft situé au poste source de Carros : les « piles » lithium ion sont reliées entre elles. - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

  • Batterie - Saft implantée dans le jardin d’un habitant de Carros. - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Le convertisseur de puissance, un maillon essentiel

Les batteries lithium ion fonctionnent avec du courant continu dont les électrons circulent toujours dans le même sens. Or, le réseau électrique est quant à lui en courant alternatif ; les électrons changent de sens toutes les 10 millisecondes. Grâce aux convertisseurs de puissance, chargeurs associés à chaque batterie, le sens des électrons va être modifié permettant ainsi de charger et décharger la batterie depuis le réseau.

Le projet NICE GRID a utilisé plusieurs modèles de convertisseurs en fonction de la gamme de puissance nécessaire.

  • Convertisseur de puissance SUNSYS PCS² 66TR au niveau de la Première Rue de Carros - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

  • Convertisseur de puissance MaxSine® de GE Grid Solutions pour la batterie 1 MW au poste source. - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

L'architecture informatique

L’architecture informatique du projet NICE GRID a permis d’activer les flexibilités de manière automatisée pour répondre aux besoins des gestionnaires de réseau.

Le gestionnaire d’énergie réseau (NEM), clé de voute du projet

Le «NEM» (Network Energy Manager) ou gestionnaire d’énergie réseau du projet, développé par GE Grid Solutions, a été mis en fonctionnement en mars 2014. Cet ordinateur a joué un rôle essentiel pour résoudre les contraintes sur le réseau en été et en hiver en allouant les flexibilités nécessaires.

A partir des prévisions de production et de consommation et des requêtes formulées par les gestionnaires de réseau, il a sollicité les agrégateurs pour qu’ils mettent en œuvre les flexibilités. Il a fonctionné comme une place de marché local, avec deux acheteurs (les gestionnaires de réseau de transport et de distribution) et trois vendeurs (les agrégateurs).

Aperçu de l’interface distributeur (DSO UI) du NEM - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Présentation du NEM par GE , European Utility Week à Vienne, Autriche - Nov 2016

Les agrégateurs, interfaces entre le NEM et les clients

Les agrégateurs sont les entités assurant les interfaces entre les flexibilités (pilotage de chauffe eau, de processus industriels, de systèmes de stockage sur le réseau), et le gestionnaire d’énergie réseau (NEM).

Parmi leurs principales actions, citons, l’agrégation des contributions des différents clients pour construire les offres proposées par le NEM ou le pilotage des flexibilités en fonction des besoins du réseau.

NICE GRID s’est appuyé sur 3 agrégateurs :

L’agrégateur « résidentiel » (EDELIA) a piloté ainsi les flexibilités chez les clients résidentiels (chauffe eau, batterie résidentielle, bonus solaire etc.) par l’intermédiaire du Linky ou d’une box pour les batteries.

L’agrégateur « tertiaire » (NETSEENERGY )a piloté quant à lui, les processus chez les 12 clients industriels participants, ainsi que l’éclairage public de 8 rues de Carros.

L’agrégateur de stockage réseau a été dédié au pilotage des quatre systèmes de stockage réseau.

En savoir plus

Les prévisions de consommation et de production

Le gestionnaire d’énergie réseau NEM s’appuie sur les plateformes de prévisions de consommation et de production photovoltaïque.

Ces deux plateformes utilisent comme données d’entrée les données historiques de production et de consommation issues des compteurs Linky, ainsi que les prévisions météorologiques (ensoleillement, températures).
Les prévisions sont ensuite intégrées dans le NEM pour estimer le besoin de flexibilité du réseau pour le lendemain.

Installation photovoltaïque sur le toit du centre de tri postal (ZI de Carros) - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Les architectures aval compteur

Pour piloter les usages chez les clients résidentiels et tertiaires, les agrégateurs ont développé des architectures spécifiques dites « architectures aval compteur ».

Le chauffe-eau résidentiel, un réservoir d’énergie

Le pilotage du chauffe-eau a été réalisé à distance par EDF, sans aucun ajout de matériel, via un signal envoyé via le compteur communicant Linky et ceci, dès lors que le chauffe-eau était bien asservi au signal tarifaire.

Ainsi, à plusieurs reprises entre 12 et 16 heures, lors de fortes productions solaires, le chauffe-eau a été déclenché se comportant comme un stockage thermique.

Architecture aval compteur pour le pilotage du chauffe-eau - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Les batteries résidentielles, un pas vers l’autoconsommation

Les clients qui ont participé à l’offre « Equipement Solaire Intelligent » ont signé un contrat autorisant EDF à contrôler les batteries installées chez eux.

Pour cela,  EDELIA a installé une « Energy Box » pour favoriser les échanges d’information entre la plateforme d’agrégation, la batterie SAFT via le convertisseur SMA. Connectée en direct avec les compteurs de production et de consommation, la box pouvait ainsi envoyer des consignes de charge/décharge pertinentes à la batterie : en cas de production importante, et de consommation faible, la batterie se charge et en cas de consommation importante en période de pointe, les équipements de la maison consomment à partir de la batterie.

Architecture aval compteur pour le pilotage des batteries résidentielles - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Le pilotage du chauffage électrique, levier essentiel pour réduire la pointe électrique

Les participants ayant souscrit à l’offre « Chauffage électrique piloté » ont accepté d’avoir leur chauffage électrique automatiquement contrôlé par EDF (via NKE,  EDELIA et le système informatique Linky).

Le système est contrôlé par un signal envoyé par les compteurs Linky, ce signal est ensuite détecté par un dispositif spécifique installé chez les participants, qui se charge ensuite de couper ou réduire le chauffage électrique

Architecture aval compteur pour le pilotage du chauffage électrique - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Différents usages tertiaires et industriels pilotés

Climatisation, centrales de traitement d’air (CTA), groupes de froids, chauffe-eaux pour l’eau chaude sanitaire (ECS), étuves, autant d’usages que les 12 entreprises participantes ont laissés piloter par l’agrégateur industriel (B2B) Netseenergy.

Architecture aval compteur pour les clients tertiaires - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

L’éclairage public piloté via l’infrastructure Linky

Avec le concours de la Métropole Nice Côte d’Azur (NCA), l’éclairage public de 8 rues de Carros a été contrôlé lors de la pointe électrique. Ceci a été rendu possible grâce à une interface connectée au compteur communicant Linky et intégrant un variateur de puissance de la société Augier.

Architecture aval compteur pour le pilotage de l’éclairage public - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Les autres innovations

Le transformateur solaire, une solution clé en main et autonome

Un transformateur solaire, combinaison d’un transformateur HTA/BT, d’un régleur en charge, d’un capteur de luminosité et d’un contrôleur a été installé sur l’un des postes de distribution d’un des 7 quartiers solaires de Carros. Son rôle, stabiliser la tension pour connecter plus de production photovoltaïque dans le quartier sans risque de surtension pour les clients.

Installation du transformateur solaire, fruit d’une innovation entre Schneider Electric et les équipes d’Enedis – novembre 2014 - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Le transformateur solaire

Installation du transformateur solaire, fruit d’une innovation entre Schneider Electric et les équipes d’Enedis – novembre 2014

Asservissement solaire

Fonctionnement de l'asservissement solaire du transformateur solaire

La communication par courant porteur en ligne large bande (BPL)

Systèmes de stockage, appareils de mesures, compteurs, transformateur solaire…autant de dispositifs innovants répartis sur le réseau de distribution, comment les faire communiquer entre eux de manière sécurisée et en temps réel ?

La réponse a été apportée grâce à l’infrastructure de communication en courant porteur en ligne large bande (Broadband Power Line, BPL). Ce protocole de communication utilise le câblage électrique pour transporter simultanément les données et la puissance électrique. Ainsi, un signal de haute fréquence (de 2 à 12 MHz) véhiculant l’information est superposé au courant électrique de fréquence 50 Hz.

Installation de coupleur BPL dans un poste de transformation - Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Le courant porteur en ligne large bande (BPL)